DUI - Driving Under the Influence
What is a DUI?
DUI stands for 'Driving Under the Influence'.
A DUI ONLY applies to people under the age of 21 in Texas.
In Texas, there is a zero tolerance policy for minors who drink and drive. This means, that if a minor is driving a motor vehicle has ANY detectable trace of alcohol, they can be charged with a DUI - even if you are not legally drunk.
DUI vs. DWI
The main difference between a DUI (Drinking Under the Influence) and a DWI (Drinking While Intoxicated) is the age of the offender and the BAC at the time of driving.
In Texas, if a person is under the age of 21 he or she cannot drive with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of ANY level. That is because in Texas, there is a zero tolerance for under-aged drinking and driving. Thus a person under the age of 21 that is drinking and driving, regardless of the BAC level, can be charged with a DUI.
However, it is possible for a person under the age of 21 to be charged with a DWI (Driving while Intoxicated) if the BAC is greater than 0.8!
DWI is a much harsher offense than a DUI. There are three different ways a Prosecutor can attempt to prove that a person was driving while intoxicated. One of them is if he offender was caught driving with a BAC of .08 or higher. To learn more about DWI click HERE.
What are the Penalties for a DUI?
A DUI is considered a Class C misdemeanor, thus there is no possibility for jail time. However, it can negatively impact your life in different ways.
Your Driver License could be suspended for up to 60 days
Insurance rates may go up
Fine up to $500
Up to 40 hours of Community Service
You may have to take classes (e.g. Alcohol Awareness Class)
If you or a loved one was charged with Driving Under the Influence, Contact us today HERE OR Call 512-872-3131